23 Things: Thing 1 and Thing 2

Last year I read about ’23 things’ for PD, but was too busy to find out more. When I saw it mentioned by someone just recently, it reminded me to explore the topic. At the same time, I was contemplating blogging again, and so, much to my surprise I found that the programme I was looking at, Rudaí 23, began with registering a blog and writing your first post. The original ’23 things’ began in 2006, and is no longer monitored, although it is still being used and adapted globally, according to the original creator, Helene Blowers.

I decided to begin the Rudaí 23 online course with the start of this blog. I’m looking forward to seeing how much of the course will be new to me, and how I fare on completing the tasks. As required, I will be blogging my experiences through each ‘thing’, so here’s hoping visitors to my blog will be patient with me while I complete the programme. 🙂

So, to Thing 1, which requires the registration of a blog. This is it, done ‘n dusted! I chose WordPress, because I already had an account there and was accustomed to it. However, after not blogging for several months, I initially battled with the ‘dashboard’. Or was it just too late at night?!

Thing 2 is the writing of the first post – also done. I actually began blogging in 2010, recording my experiences (periodically) while I was studying. I never advertised that blog; it became more of a journal for private use. I felt insecure with putting myself ‘out there’ and making myself vulnerable. I am very self-critical…not a good trait when it leads to a demand within to strive for perfection – an impossibility that we often choose to place upon ourselves. The last entry from that blog site is dated January 2015. So much has happened since then; perhaps it warrants a catch up post on this blog at some point.

I still feel uncomfortable with being visible… I find writing each post really stressful, knowing that people may be reading what I have written. I wonder if the grammar is correct, if the word choice could improve, and whether I have dotted the i’s and crossed the t’s. In her article about a list of blogging rules for The Muse website, Lily Herman states that it is best to be yourself…to show your own identity.

Well, I’ve chosen to squash my fear in order to write, drumming up the courage to submit an article for the International Librarian’s Network and to begin this blog.  I’ve heard it said, over and over, that to be visible, and blogging, is good for a career. And since a career is what I want in the next few decades, I will do what I can to build on it. You see, there is no such thing as ‘retirement’ for me, and I prefer it that way. 🙂

Librarian meme

The desirable length of a blog entry is another story…an interesting link from Rudaí23, pointed to this infographic…

social-media-length-infographic
Social Media Length Infographic. From http://blog.bufferapp.com, via Sumall

It is suggested that blog entries are more often read when they are 1,600 words in length. Not sure I’ll make that with each entry, but I guess it depends on the personal passion-level of the topic. On the other hand, Lily Herman also reckons that posts of 500 to 700 words are better (Woohoo!) than longer ones, unless the latter are very well written.

Here’s my challenge, to anyone out there who may be starting the Rudaí23 programme – let’s connect and follow each other, and let’s Tweet about it on #2016Rudai23. Here’s to blogging! *raises glass* Cheers!

On to Thing 3. Till next time.

Author: LibSandy

Durate, et vosmet rebus servate secondis. (Endure for a while, and live for a happier day.) Librarian, wife & mother. Expat.